Date: 31.08.2026
KMP / Board / Auditor Changes
Not Specified
Dividend Declaration or Non-Declaration
Not Specified
Board Meeting Outcomes
Not Specified
Financial Results (Standalone & Consolidated)
Not Specified
Auditor’s Report
Not Specified
Disinvestment / Strategic Actions
Not Specified
Other Operational / Legal / Strategic Disclosures
Business Responsibility & Sustainability Report - FY 2025-26
SECTION A: GENERAL DISCLOSURES
I. Details of the listed entity
- Corporate Identity Number (CIN): L85110KA1924PLC001128
- Name: The Karnataka Bank Limited
- Year of incorporation: 1924
- Financial Year: FY 2025-26
- Stock Exchanges: BSE Limited and National Stock Exchange of India Limited
- Paid-up Capital: ₹378,18,15,620.00
- Contact for BRSR: Shri Raghuram H S, General Manager, Branch Banking Department, raghuramhs@ktk.bank.in, 0824-2228274
- Reporting boundary: Consolidated Basis
- Assurance Provider: M/s Gencarbon ESG Private Limited
- Type of Assurance: Limited Assurance Provided
II. Products/services
- Main Activity: Banking (Financial and Insurance Services Activity Code-K1)
- Description: Banking activities by Central, Commercial Bank, Digital banking, and savings bank
- % of Turnover: 100%
III. Operations
- Number of locations: National - 975 branches, 42 offices, 1,474 ATMs/Recyclers, 201 Business Correspondents; International - NIL
- 37.6% of ATM sites (449 sites with 517 machines) have ramp facilities for inclusive banking
- Markets served: 22 States and 2 Union Territories nationally; no international operations
- Export contribution: Not Applicable (100% turnover from domestic banking services)
- Customer base: 14 million customers as of 31st March 2026
Customer segments include:
- Retail individuals
- Digital UPI payment service customers and partners
- Large corporates with treasury and wholesale banking needs
- MSMEs including mid corporate clients
- NRI Individuals
- Farmers and agriculturists, along with green projects
- Government bodies and agencies
- Fintech collaborations
- Banking with Digital Currency (CBDC)
Sustainable Banking Initiatives:
- Green lending exposure: ₹515.60 Crores
- Renewable Energy Projects (Onward Lending): ₹400 Crores
- Renewable Energy Projects (Corporate): ₹92.65 Crores
- Electric Vehicle Loans: ₹22.95 Crores
- Women entrepreneurship advances: ₹965.94 Crores outstanding
- Self Help Groups (SHGs) outstanding: ₹1,094.51 Crores (1.31% of total advances)
Social Security Scheme Performance:
- APY enrolments: 38,007 (exceeding target of 37,840)
- PMJJBY fresh enrolments: 80,948
- PMSBY fresh enrolments: 1,86,229
Digital Initiatives:
- Digital Centre of Excellence (DCoE) developed end-to-end digital journeys
- 90% of savings bank accounts opened digitally
- Digital account opening through TAB and Web channels
- Hybrid cloud strategy with public and private cloud infrastructure
- IT hardware procurement with energy-efficient certifications (ENERGY STAR, EPEAT Gold, TCO Certified)
- Data Centre efficiency measures including 30 KW Solar plant, saving 1.29 million units of power
- ISO 50001 certification for Data Centre energy management
- Cloud-based SIEM solution implementation
IV. Employees
a. Employees and workers (including differently abled):
- Total employees: 9,047
- Permanent: 9,037 (Male: 6,091 [67.40%], Female: 2,946 [32.60%])
- Other than Permanent: 10 (Male: 6 [60%], Female: 4 [40%])
- Total workers: NIL
b. Differently abled Employees and workers:
- Total differently abled employees: 31
- Permanent: 31 (Male: 28 [90.32%], Female: 3 [9.68%])
- Other than Permanent: 0
- Total differently abled workers: NIL
21. Participation/Inclusion/Representation of women
- Board of Directors: 1 female out of 8 directors (12.5%)
- Key Management Personnel: 0 females out of 3 KMPs
22. Turnover rate for permanent employees
- FY 2025-26: Male 1.61%, Female 0.68%, Total 2.29%
- FY 2024-25: Male 2.24%, Female 1.90%, Total 2.13%
- FY 2023-24: Male 2.58%, Female 1.90%, Total 2.36%
V. Holding, Subsidiary and Associate Companies
- KBL Services Limited: Wholly Owned Non-Financial Services Subsidiary, 100% shares held, participates in business responsibility initiatives
VI. CSR Details
- CSR applicable: Yes
- Turnover for CSR calculation: ₹10,320.72 crores
- Net worth: ₹12,644.04 crores
- CSR budget: ₹30.96 crores
- CSR amount sanctioned: ₹31.02 crores
- Environmental sustainability allocation: 11% of CSR budget (₹3.4 crores)
CSR Projects Summary (285 projects, ₹31.03 crores):
- Education: 79 projects, ₹12.44 crores (40.09%)
- Empowering Socially/Economically Disadvantaged: 17 projects, ₹2.09 crores (6.75%)
- Environmental Sustainability: 44 projects, ₹3.40 crores (10.97%)
- Healthcare: 73 projects, ₹6.61 crores (21.30%)
- Protection of Culture/Heritage: 48 projects, ₹3.54 crores (11.40%)
- Rural Development: 4 projects, ₹0.10 crores (0.33%)
- Women Empowerment: 11 projects, ₹1.35 crores (4.35%)
- Swachh Bharat: 9 projects, ₹0.86 crores (2.76%)
- Administrative Expenses: ₹0.63 crores (2.04%)
Additional CSR Activities:
- 202 employees registered and 125 units of blood collected during Head Office Blood Donation Camp
- Multiple blood donation and health camps across regional offices and branches
- Cancer awareness, anti-drug abuse and preventive healthcare programmes
- Financial literacy and cyber security awareness programmes
- Sapling plantation and Swachh Bharat cleanliness drives
- Active employee volunteering and community participation
- International Day Against Drug Abuse awareness programme
VII. Transparency and Disclosures Compliances
25. Complaints/Grievances on NGRBC Principles:
- Communities: 0 complaints filed, 0 pending
- Investors (other than shareholders): 0 complaints filed, 0 pending
- Shareholders: 7 complaints filed, 0 pending (previous year: 7 filed, 1 pending which was closed on 10.04.25)
- Employees: 5 complaints filed, 0 pending (previous year: 3 filed, 0 pending)
- Customers: 28,910 service-related complaints filed, 268 pending (previous year: 25,312 filed, 134 pending)
- Value Chain Partners: 0 complaints filed, 0 pending
- Overall complaint resolution rate: 99.07%
26. Material responsible business conduct issues:
The Bank identified 6 material issues:
1. Responsible lending and sustainable finance (Opportunity)
2. Environment and Social Risk (Risk and Opportunity)
3. Vendors and suppliers (Opportunity)
4. Staff welfare, work life balance and Human Rights, Occupation Health, and Safety (Risk and Opportunity)
5. Data Security and IT Resiliency (Risk and Opportunity)
6. Information disclosure and available digitally (Risk)
SECTION B: MANAGEMENT AND PROCESS DISCLOSURES
Policy Coverage:
- All 9 NGRBC Principles covered by policies
- Policies approved by Board
- Policies translated into procedures
- Some policies extend to value chain partners
National and International Certifications:
- IT Departments certified under ISO 27001:2022 (ISMS)
- Resources Department, Compliance Department, Risk Management Departments certified with ISO 9001:2015
- Staff Training College reaccredited ISO 9001:2015
- Cardholder Data Environment certified to PCI DSS 4.0.1
Awards and Accolades:
- Award of Excellence under "Special Appreciation Campaign" for achieving APY target, FY 2024-25
- Infosys Finacle Innovation Awards 2025 (Gold)
- IBA CISO Award – Cyber Security Team of the Year
- IBA CISO Award – Cyber Security Transformation of the Year
- Special award, "Leader in Ethical Collection Practices"
- Award of Excellence Achiever under "APY Annual Awards FY 2024-25" (PFRDA)
- Certificate of Encouragement by PFRDA
- 5 Awards in IBA 21st Annual Banking Technology Conference
Governance and Oversight:
- Board is highest authority for oversight of Business Responsibility Policies
- Managing Director & CEO is highest authority for implementation
- Specified Committee of Board responsible for sustainability related issues
- Regular reviews of performance against policies
- Independent assessment by M/s Gencarbon ESG Private Limited
SECTION C: PRINCIPLE WISE PERFORMANCE DISCLOSURE
PRINCIPLE 1: Ethical, Transparent and Accountable
- Training coverage: Board of Directors 100%, KMP 100%, Employees 100%
- No fines/penalties paid in proceedings with regulators/law enforcement agencies
- Anti-corruption policy: No (but has Whistle Blower policy)
- No disciplinary action for bribery/corruption
- No complaints about conflict of interest
- No regulatory actions related to corruption or conflicts of interest
PRINCIPLE 2: Sustainable and Safe Goods/Services
- Capex spend on solar setup: ₹2,50,93,311 across 9 locations
- Sustainable sourcing procedures in place
- E-waste disposal: 69.2 MT through CPCB-certified recyclers
- No Extended Producer Responsibility applicable
PRINCIPLE 3: Employee Well-being
- Health insurance coverage: 100% of employees
- Maternity benefits: 163 female employees (5.53%)
- Paternity benefits: 296 male employees (4.86%)
- Retirement benefits: PF (31.27% coverage), Gratuity (100% coverage), NPS (68.73% coverage)
- Workplace accessibility: Compliant with Rights of Persons with Disabilities Act, 2016
- Equal opportunity policy in place
- Return to work and retention rates: 100% for parental leave
- Grievance mechanism available for employees
- Union membership: 95.45% of permanent employees
- Training: 85.35% of employees received skill upgradation training
- Performance reviews: 100% of employees
- Occupational health and safety management system implemented
- No safety incidents reported
PRINCIPLE 4: Stakeholder Responsiveness
- Key stakeholder groups: Shareholders, Customers, Employees, Regulatory bodies, Communities, Value Chain Partners
- Regular engagement through multiple channels
- Stakeholder consultation used for environmental and social topics
- Engagement with vulnerable/marginalized groups through priority sector lending, inclusive banking, and CSR programs
PRINCIPLE 5: Human Rights
- Human rights training coverage: 100% of employees
- Minimum wages: 100% of employees paid more than minimum wage
- Median remuneration: Board ₹75.80 lakhs, KMP ₹58.67 lakhs, Other employees Male ₹13.51 lakhs, Female ₹11.62 lakhs
- Gross wages to females: 26.43% of total wages
- Focal point for human rights issues: HR & IR Department and Chief of Internal Vigilance Officer
- No complaints of discrimination, child labour, forced labour, or wage violations
- POSH complaints: 5 filed, 2 upheld, all resolved within statutory timeframe
PRINCIPLE 6: Environmental Protection
- Energy consumption: 51.4339 TJ total
- Renewable: 0.82 TJ (solar)
- Non-renewable: 50.6139 TJ (electricity 43.28 TJ, fuel 7.3339 TJ)
- Energy intensity: 2.677 × 10⁻¹¹ TJ/₹, 5.381 × 10⁻¹⁰ TJ/Int'l $, 0.005685 TJ/FTE
- Water withdrawal: Not quantifiable (3 borewells unmetered, municipal supply 349 KL)
- STP operations: Head Office (60 KLD), RO Udupi (10 KLD), RO Tumkur (10 KLD)
- Air emissions: Not separately measured
- GHG emissions:
- Scope 1: 521.67 tCO₂e
- Scope 2: 9,858.22 tCO₂e
- Total: 10,379.89 tCO₂e
- GHG reduction projects: LED installation, solar generation, cloud migration, digital adoption
- Waste generated: 69.2 MT e-waste
- No operations in ecologically sensitive areas
- Compliant with applicable environmental laws
PRINCIPLE 7: Responsible Public Policy Influence
- Affiliation with Indian Banks' Association (IBA)
- No corrective actions related to anti-competitive conduct
PRINCIPLE 8: Inclusive Growth
- No Social Impact Assessments undertaken
- No Rehabilitation and Resettlement projects
- Grievance mechanisms for community: CCGR portal, toll-free numbers, email
- Job creation: Rural 12.85%, Semi-Urban 13.42%, Urban 41.47%, Metropolitan 32.26% of wage cost
- CSR beneficiaries: Education 20,746, Reducing inequalities 932, Environmental sustainability 348,651, Healthcare 745,299, Rural development 3,001, Swachh Bharat 109,520, Women empowerment 6,239
PRINCIPLE 9: Responsible Consumer Engagement
- Consumer complaint mechanisms: WebGRM system, toll-free numbers, email
- No consumer complaints on data privacy, advertising, cyber-security
- Essential services complaints: 145 debit card, 33 CPLL, all resolved
- No product recalls
- Cyber security and data privacy framework in place
- No data breaches
- Consumer education through multiple channels: social media, SMS, awareness camps, educational institutions
- Product information displayed beyond legal requirements
- Consumer satisfaction surveys conducted