Case Overview
This adjudication order stems from a complaint received by SEBI regarding the offer document filed by Taurian MPS Limited for its Initial Public Offer (IPO). SEBI conducted an examination which revealed that certain disclosures in relation to promoter group entities/non-promoter group entity were either not made or were not adequately made in the offer document.
The proceedings were initiated against:
1. Taurian MPS Limited (Noticee 1)
2. Mr. Yashvardhan Sumit Bajla, director of Noticee 1 (Noticee 2)
3. Ms. Puja Sumit Bajla, director of Noticee 1 (Noticee 3)
4. Gretex Corporate Services Limited, merchant banker to the issue (Noticee 4)
The principal allegations concerned three entities:
- TISPL (Taurian Iron and Steel Private Limited): Classified as non-promoter group entity, but its liquidation status was not disclosed
- TIPL (Taurian Infrastructure Pvt. Ltd.): Classified as promoter group entity, but appropriate risk factor for its past default (settled in FY2020) was not disclosed
- TEPL (Taurian Engineering Pvt. Ltd.): Not classified as promoter group entity despite meeting the regulatory threshold, and its liquidation status was not disclosed
The Adjudicating Officer considered extensive submissions from the Noticees, who raised multiple preliminary objections including alleged violation of natural justice due to non-supply of documents, vagueness of the show cause notice, hindsight bias, unreasonable lookback period, and SEBI's limited role in SME offer documents. These objections were examined and rejected by the AO.
Key Findings and Reasoning
After detailed examination, the Adjudicating Officer made the following determinations:
Regarding TISPL: The allegation was not established. TISPL was correctly classified as a non-promoter group entity, and no material nexus was demonstrated between its liquidation status and the issuer company that would require disclosure under Regulation 245(1) of ICDR Regulations.
Regarding TIPL: The allegation was not established. The default had been settled in FY2020 and was not continuing. The examination report itself characterized the expected disclosure as "abundant precaution" rather than a mandatory requirement, and no present or prospective material risk to the issuer company was established.
Regarding TEPL: Violations were established. Ms. Puja Sumit Bajla's shareholding in TEPL had crossed the 20% threshold prescribed under Regulation 2(1)(pp)(iv) of ICDR Regulations from FY2014-15 onwards, making TEPL part of the promoter group. Contrary to the Noticees' contention, TEPL was not under liquidation as of the DRHP filing date (February 28, 2025) - the liquidator was appointed only on April 4, 2025. The liquidation status constituted material information that ought to have been disclosed.
The AO rejected the argument that liquidation proceedings exempted an entity from promoter-group classification, noting that commencement of liquidation does not ipso facto extinguish corporate existence or shareholder rights unless a final dissolution order is passed.
Final Outcome
The Adjudicating Officer imposed the following penalties under Section 15HB of the SEBI Act:
- Taurian MPS Limited (Noticee 1): ₹5,00,000 (Rupees Five Lakh Only)
- Mr. Yashvardhan Sumit Bajla (Noticee 2): ₹5,00,000 (Rupees Five Lakh Only)
- Ms. Puja Sumit Bajla (Noticee 3): Joint and several liability with Noticee 2
- Gretex Corporate Services Limited (Noticee 4): ₹8,00,000 (Rupees Eight Lakh Only)
The penalties must be paid within 45 days of receipt of the order. In case of failure to pay, recovery proceedings may be initiated under Section 28A of the SEBI Act.
Topics: IPO Disclosure Requirements, Promoter Group Classification, SEBI Adjudication